Escaping Exodus

 

“An Afrofuturist love story, set inside a giant space-creature, about two women of different castes…top-notch worldbuilding and sharp characterization.” – Kirkus Reviews

“Don’t be alarmed – that dizzy pleasurable sensation you’re experiencing is just your brain slowly exploding from all the wild magnificent worldbuilding in Nicky Drayden’s Escaping Exodus. I loved these characters and this story, and so will you.” – Sam J. Miller, Nebula-Award-winning author of The Art of Starving and Blackfish City

I’m ramping up for contests and book giveaways, so sign up for my newsletter now, so you won’t miss out on the fun!

And I’ve got awesome FREE SWAG for book orders and library requests while supplies last!

Get your copy today: Amazon | B&N | Indie

 

 

The Prey of Gods

The Prey of Gods is winner of the RT Reviewers Choice Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy and the Compton Crook Award!

THE PREY OF GODS is a near future thriller set in South Africa in which a diverse set of characters imbued with supernatural abilities by a street drug called Godsend must band together against a disenfranchised goddess who intends to remake their world and change the fate of humanity forever.

“Drayden’s first novel is set in a near future with personal robots, making the magical elements unusual yet effective. VERDICT Fans of Lauren Beukes and N.K. Jemisin will want to check out this winning mashup that mixes genres and moods with gleeful abandon, heralding a fresh new talent.” -Library Journal (Starred Review!)

“Nicky Drayden’s debut novel The Prey of Gods(Harper Voyager) is delightfully unlike most science fiction out there. Drayden mixes folklore, urban fantasy and science fiction in her futuristic South Africa to dazzling effect.” -Washington Post, Best science fiction and fantasy books to read this month

 

See what people are saying:
New York Times | Wall Street Journal | Washington Post

Available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Indiebound

Read the Chapter 1 Excerpt here

cover_prey_of_godsArtwork by Brenoch Adams, cover design by Owen Corrigan.

 

TEMPER

TEMPER is a tale of twin brothers and their adventures as they set out to battle their demons, both literally and figuratively, while also navigating an oppressive culture where a person’s worth is determined by the virtues and vices assigned to them as a mere child. This genre-blending dark fantasy set in an alternate Cape Town is both harrowing and humorous, and is riddled with mysteries and secrets at every turn.

It was chosen as Publishers Weekly Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of 2018!

Available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble or your local indie.

Photo Credits: William Ting
Copyright © 2019 Diary of a Short Woman. All Rights Reserved.