The Prey of Gods

I’ve got a cover! No, scratch that. I’ve got an AWESOME cover. I’m beyond thrilled to show it to the world! After you’re done swooning, you can read more about the novel, take a sneak peek at Muzi’s first chapter, or read this Tor.com exclusive of Sydney’s first chapter.

cover_prey_of_godsArtwork by Brenoch Adams, cover design by Owen Corrigan.

 

THE PREY OF GODS is a near future thriller set in South Africa in which a diverse set of characters imbued with supernatural abilities by a street drug called Godsend must band together against a disenfranchised goddess who intends to remake their world and change the fate of humanity forever.

Praise for the book:

“Drayden’s first novel is set in a near future with personal robots, making the magical elements unusual yet effective. VERDICT Fans of Lauren Beukes and N.K. Jemisin will want to check out this winning mashup that mixes genres and moods with gleeful abandon, heralding a fresh new talent.”

-Library Journal (Starred Review!)

“Nicky Drayden’s debut novel The Prey of Gods(Harper Voyager) is delightfully unlike most science fiction out there. Drayden mixes folklore, urban fantasy and science fiction in her futuristic South Africa to dazzling effect.”

-Washington Post, Best science fiction and fantasy books to read this month

“You’ll need to clear your schedule as soon as you get your hands on a copy of Drayden’s debut novel!…Drayden has certainly made herself an author to watch out for.”

-Romantic Times, 4 1/2 stars (Top Pick!)

 

The Prey of Gods is original, exciting, a fast-paced story with an emotional depth that connects you to the rich cast of characters.  It’s a fabulous debut from an author I hope to see much, much more from.”

-Martha Wells, author of The Books of the Raksura and The Murderbot Diaries

 

Prey of Gods delivers on every promise in beautifully unexpected ways that leave you breathless, a little dizzy, and wanting more…Exquisite, fast-paced, and excellent fun.”

-Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon

 

“Ancient gods, gene-tech, and gripping action – I love so much about this book.”

-Cat Rambo, author of Beasts of Tabat and Neither Here Nor There

 

The Prey of Gods is an ambitious blend of folklore, bioengineering, and science fiction… With luck, readers will remember Drayden’s novel when nomination season rolls around.”

-Steven Silver — SFSite

 

The Prey of Gods is available now!
amazoncom
barnesnoble

 

I’m ramping up for contests and book giveaways, so sign up for my newsletter now, so you won’t miss out on the fun!

 

DELIGHTFULLY TWISTED TALES

Also, check out my collection of Delightfully Twisted Tales ebooks. They make the perfect present for that annoying coworker who’s always stealing your sack lunches, that weird uncle you see every other year, or anyone else you really don’t want to spend money on. Delightfully Twisted Tales Volumes One through Eight are available in a variety of formats and feature previously published pieces as well as pieces never before seen! Well, they’ve been seen by me of course, but the point is that there’s a bit of fresh material in each ebook.

Amazon Library
Barnes and Noble Library
iTunes Library

 

tentacles

Photo Credits: William Ting
Copyright © 2017 Diary of a Short Woman. All Rights Reserved.